Born to Run?

I’m currently humming and hawing over whether or not I should run the Marathon in Cork next June. I’ve been trying to placate that inner voice that keeps telling me to lace up the trainers and start pounding tarmac with suggestions that I’m not really cut out for long distance running. That I’d love to but my body just isn’t designed for it. After last year’s pain, I swore that I’d stick to biking for my endorphin fix.

Then, low and behold, I stumble across this article that says that long distance running actually shaped the way our bodies developed.

 Looks like I’m running out of excuses fast.  

Drawings of our ape-like ancestor, Australopithecus afarensis, and an early human species, Homo erectus, shows some of the differences that gave humans the ability to run long distances. (Credit: Laszlo Meszoly, Harvard University) via sciencedaily.com

Leave a Reply

