Someday, all this will be a memory.

Winter Wonderland

Fearghal

Someday, all of this will come to an end; the sleeping rough, chiseled calves, calloused arse, taking 8 hours of exercise a day,  wearing the same clothes for two weeks straight, having an interesting topic for conversation, worrying about incline, gradient and road surfaces, eating like a horse, being able to eat a horse, not knowing the name of the town I’m in, forgetting the name of the person spending the night with, cycling another twenty km till lunch to save 50cents, living out of a waterproof bag in a steel trailer, saying Irlanda 30 times a day, saying no/non/niet/nine/ not Hollanda… Irrrrrrlanda, assessing the quality of a book by its size and weight as well as its content, wondering why anyone would ever wear clothes that are not waterproof/breathable/quick drying/light/thermal.

Someday,  I’ll be home; I’ll have a fridge, a cooker, a shower, a cupboard and a bed, I’ll be able to close a door and be by myself, talk to people in complex English with an Irish accent using colloquialisms, slang and very specific Alan Partridge references, I’ll be able to get out of my bed and not have to pack it away, and go to bed without waiting for darkness or asking some one’s permission, I’ll have to get up at a specific time and do tasks that someone else dictates, I’ll have a phone and a set of keys.

Someday, my life will be normal again, and uninteresting, and I’ll probably miss my stop on the train because I was daydreaming about when I lived on a special simple world called the road.

12 thoughts on “Someday, all this will be a memory.

  1. You both are so lucky being able to experience what Fearghal just wrote.
    Waiting for your answer about a possible meeting.
    God speed!

  2. Jeez Ferghal, that was as emotional as the end of a Tale of Two Cities. It will be very hard to adjust on return, but you’ll always be able to give classes in bustin’ moves, Iranian style. Any idea how many cities you’ve actually gone through? See you guys pretty soon.

  3. D’ont think your life will every be uninteresting you have so much to draw on now,and you know what the world has to offer its up to you Ferg. Enjoy the rest of this special time in your life.

  4. It’s 14 years since my last solo cycle across a continent, and I can tell you that it never leaves you.

    You’ll walk down an Irish street one day and a smell will come out of nowhere and render you powerless as you are lifted back to a place on the road you hadn’t even daydreamed of since you left it.

    In some ways you’ll always be doing all the little things that you did out there, forever probably.

  5. Dude, You’ve just nailed what the rest of your life is going to be like.
    Carpe Diem.
    Ride slow.
    Enjoy each day.
    This ride will mould the rest of your life. Some days you will feel blessed because of it. Some days you will despair that your life will never be so full again.
    Ride slow my friends! The rest of your life can wait a while…

  6. what an incredible time in your lives – you are the only ones who can shape your future and do whatever you like with it – you’ve already proven what you can do if you really want to – enjoy the rest of your fantastic journey, and as Al H says – ride slow – take in every detail – look forward to seeing you when you get back

  7. You know you spend way too much time on Facebook when you search for the “Like” button below a post or photo! I wanted to double- or triple-“like” this post 🙂

    We’ve never met but I came across this site through Tim Allen’s blog. I too am an avid cyclist and I actually cycle the streets of Yerevan every day (believe it or not 🙂

    But more fitting for this post: I went on a bike tour with 3 other women from Yerevan to Tbilisi last summer — it was my first bike tour and it definitely won’t be the last.

    I echo the sentiments of this post completely. Keep on riding!

Leave a Reply

